vegan hummus sandwich

{ about this recipe }

This is a sandwich that is delicious unto itself but that I must confess I came up with initially because I was still craving tuna sandwiches (which, thankfully, I no longer do). This sandwich gave me that creamy/crunchy texture I missed with my tuna sandwiches.

This deliciously simple hummus sandwich exemplifies the healthful benefits of “food combining”. In addition to being excellent sources for fiber and heart-healthy iron and manganese, the combination of bread and hummus (chick-peas/garbanzo beans)  provides a high ‘complete’ protein source. Also, by combining fresh carrots with  hummus, digestion speeds up thus avoiding excessive gas buildup.

And, as always, feel free to change up the minced veggie ingredients. For instance, the addition of minced radishes and/or celery wonderfully expands the crunch, texture and taste factor. And if I have it on hand I add a layer of spicy/sweet kale salad and layer it in a wrap – delicious!

hummus wrap with carrots and kale

{ stuff you’ll need }

I’ll leave the ingredient quantities up to you but if you have any questions feel free to ask and I’ll be happy to reply.

. Creamy style spicy or garlic flavor hummus
. Shredded sweet carrots
. Kale salad (optional)
. Flavorful whole grain bread

{ how to make it }

spread a layer of hummus, not too thick, on the inside of each slice of the bread …  by spreading  hummus on each slice of bread it serves to hold the shredded carrot in place … sprinkle one slice generously with the shredded carrots … place the other slice of bread on top

